%s1 / %s2

Playlist: Noise

Compiled By: Margaret Menninger

Caption: PRX default Playlist image
No text

Noise: A Human History (Series)

Produced by Matt Thompson

Most recent piece in this series:

06 The Amplified Age (59 min version)

From Matt Thompson | Part of the Noise: A Human History series | 58:54

28_small Five narratives which look at sound in the era of the mass media. They explore the modern struggle which began with the mass reproduction of sound achieved by the gramophone player - and which has since been characterised by a struggle against being overwhelmed by noise and demagoguery in the age of pervasive chatter and 24-hour entertainment.